Free to Air Satellite Forums (Asia Pacific) - Sponsored by aDigitaLife.com Audio Visual Suppliers

Go Back   Free to Air Satellite Forums (Asia Pacific) - Sponsored by aDigitaLife.com Audio Visual Suppliers > General > Newbie Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-11-2004, 03:38 AM   #1
andydixon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 3
Tuning UEC 660 for FTA in New Zealand

Hi,
I have a UEC 660 which I am having some problems with. I have the LNB set up with a frequency of 11300 MHz. I have the receiver set to tune into 12456V, sr = 22500 and fec = 3/4. As far as I am aware this is all correct. When I go to the signal dectection section in the menu it show around 85% signal strength and it appears to be locking onto the sky signal. All is good so far.

BUT... when I get the receiver to tune in is finds 11 "streams" (does this mean 11 transponders??) and 17 services. It scans through the 11 streams but when it gets to 11 it just sits there and does nothing. I have left it overnight and still it just sits there.

Is this a bug with the UEC 660? have I done something wrong?

Thanks for any help you might be able to give me

Andy
andydixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2004, 04:07 AM   #2
Sky_Satt
Satellite Guru
 
Sky_Satt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,384
Hi Any could try the lnb set up, see if power is on, to the lnb, with what you have said you have the right TP and SR for the TVNZ mux ,strength 85%, but should also get a quality dectection if power to the lnb is turned on it should lock and load the TVNZ mux
there is no sky on this TP, recheck TP SR coud have loaded the sky TP and SR
by error, if that was so, all you will get is a black screen as all sky's TPs are
encrypted, hope this is of some help :-)
Sky_Satt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2004, 04:10 AM   #3
VK4BKP
Moderator
 
VK4BKP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Mackay
Posts: 5,761
The UEC's are problematic for FTA, especially on B1 for some reason. Perhaps someone else in NZ can give a better answer than me though.

Welcome to the forum.

Edit, thanks Sky satt. Beat me as I was typing.

Last edited by VK4BKP; 29-11-2004 at 04:12 AM.
VK4BKP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2004, 07:55 AM   #4
Apsattv
Satellite Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Apsattv HQ NZ
Posts: 4,396
Try 12519 V sr 22500 Fec 3/4 and make sure NIT is enabled and decoder should be set to load ALL including encrypted as sometimes the Sky channels are flagged as encrypted in the stream
it should load 12456v as part of the load
Apsattv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2004, 08:28 AM   #5
viewer
Satellite Guru
 
viewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour surrounds
Posts: 1,149
These 660's are quirky, as mine reacts in the same way when dual loading Aurora and pay.
This is how mine works each time...don't laugh...it works, and does for others.
Slightly unscrew your cable from the LNB, going into the receiver, so it is mated, but not screwed up.
Go into your settings
Make sure home is disabled.
Put your options in signal 2
Let it start loading, saying found services, and when it stalls at the particular transponder, remove the cable, push it back in, and tighten it.
It should now load it all for you.
Why it works I don't know, but it does.
Good luck
viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2004, 06:53 PM   #6
andydixon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 3
Thanks for the replies everyone.

I will give your suggestion a try Viewer. It sounds crazy but I am willing to try anything at this stage!

Thanks
Andy
andydixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2004, 06:53 PM   #7
andydixon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 3
Well despite my scepticism it worked a charm. Thanks a lot Viewer!

Andy
andydixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 08:05 AM   #8
viewer
Satellite Guru
 
viewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour surrounds
Posts: 1,149
Your welcome Andy !!

feels good when things work out after struggling for ages, doesn't it !!
viewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2004, 08:12 AM   #9
simmo
Moderator
 
simmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lower Planet on the northern end....Cairns!
Posts: 7,262
hehe most 'untechnikal'!! Well done Viewer!!
__________________
Hmmmm...


Please take some time to browse and read our site.
We are a friendly, knowledgable mob but we don't tolerate laziness easily!.....



simmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Title Logo Designed by Liam
Proudly Hosted by Hopton Hosting
Copyright 2003 Vetrun.net